National Breast Cancer Coalition

Congressional Awards

Without leaders in the U.S. Congress who are committed to ending breast cancer, the efforts of the National Breast Cancer Coalition (NBCC) to meet the goal of Breast Cancer Deadline 2020® and end breast cancer by January 1, 2020 could not succeed.

At the close of the Annual Lobby Day, the National Breast Cancer Coalition honors a select few members of Congress. A reception and recognition program is held for Senators and Representatives who, over the past year, have given outstanding and effective leadership to the fight to end breast cancer.

In 2014, NBCC honored the sponsors of the "Accelerating the End of Breast Cancer Act" (S. 865/H.R. 1830): Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) & Senator Dean Heller (R-NV) and Representive Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) & Representative Kathy Castor (D-FL).

Members of Congress who, year after year, have gone above and beyond the call of duty to ensure the federal government makes breast cancer a priority and by supporting substantive polices that will lead to the end of this disease, are inducted into the NBCC Public Policy Hall of Fame.

Current members include: Senators Tom Harkin (D-IA), Daniel Inouye (D-HI), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Olympia Snowe (R-ME); Representatives Lois Capps (D-CA), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Nita Lowey (D-NY), Sue Myrick (R-NC), Henry Waxman (D-CA), and Bill Young (R-FL).